Top Tip #1: Portable Apps on your iPod, camera, phone or memory stick

Travelling? Using a shared computer at work / college or regularly use an internet cafe? Tired of getting fraped? Worried about leaving a browsing history behind on a computer? Not got the right software or links when you need them? Then you could find portableapps.com really handy.

Quote: “Now you can carry your favorite computer programs along with all of your bookmarks, settings, email and more with you. Use them on any Windows computer. All without leaving any personal data behind.”

A portable app is a computer program that you can carry around with you on a portable device and use on any Windows computer. When your USB flash drive, portable hard drive, iPod or other portable device is plugged in, you have access to your software and personal data just as you would on your own PC. And when you unplug the device, none of your personal data is left behind.

I’ve loaded it on to my iPod Classic which is something I tend to carry around with me when travelling, it registers as a separate drive in windows and it has plenty of space available for document and photo storage etc. It could equally have been another USB device like my camera, my phone with a mini SD card in it or for simplicity a normal USB drive or memory stick.

Now I carry around with me for no extra weight or cost a copy of the browser Firefox with all my key favourites saved and that won’t leave behind any history when I unplug the drive. I have the Open Office Software Suite which will allow me to create and edit any key documents where ever I am. I have a copy of MSN and Skype that wont leave behind any history. I have the excellent GIMP photo/image creation/editing software and Mozilla Thunderbird for all my email needs plus a couple of other bits and bobs. All of this software is set up how I like it and can be used on any computer, on top of all that it has anti virus software to keep everything protected.

Even if you don’t use the portableapps suite but you do use a USB drive in ‘other’ computers its definitely worth spending a few minutes reading their advice here http://portableapps.com/support/safe_portable_app-ing

Enjoy

:-)

Hope you’ve found the first in this new Top Tip series handy. I’ve got quite a few I will add over time so keep popping back to check for new posts and click on the Top Tips category in the side bar on the right. Alternatively sign up for email alerts of new posts or add the RSS feed to your Outlook or other feed reader. Information can again be found in the RH sidebar

Leave a Reply

