Lets go surfing now, everybody’s learning how, come on a safari with me….

My problem has always been I’m a kayaker! Since I first sat in a boat when I was 9 its meant the instant gratification of catching a wave without needing to stand up has always been open to me. As I got more experienced I was able to move on to paddle skis and surf at some great breaks.

BUT

I’ve always had a hankering to be able to stand up and eventually I’m getting round to making the effort. Next weekend I’m heading to Oman with Carl and Surf Adventures UAE and I’m really looking forward to it.

Click the image for more info on surfing in Oman

I figure while I’m here its a pretty good opportunity to learn. I have a beach just down the road that has reasonably regular OK surf and as I can tell if its working or not by looking out of my bedroom window its easy enough to get up in the mornings and grab a few waves, I’ve done it quite regularly in my kayak so far this year.

There are a few surf options around and about. Umm Sequeim beach, next to the Burj Al Arab in Dubai has regular good waves and a significant community that revolves around it, Town Beach at Um Al Quwain can catch good waves too and then there is also the east coast to explore.

My new camera has been with me to the beach too, here are some images I’ve snapped. Click on the youtube video first for music to get you in the mood……..

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑